Edisto High School Home Page
« February 2016 »
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat


Upcoming Events
- ACT Testing
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
- SAT Testing
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
- SAT Testing
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
School Announcements
Senior Pics
Seniors! Cap and Gown pictures will be taken February 4, 2016.  Please see Mrs. Townsend to make an appointment.
Student learn about jobs at Boeing

Many of our Junior and Senior students attended a session at OC Tech Tuesday with Mr Frank Hatten of Boeing Aerospace.  Students learned about the qualities Boeing is looking to hire for in the next few years.  Mr Hatten stressed they they are looking for 4 things:  new hires need to know a little math (10th grade level), they need to be able to read at grade level, they need soft skills (be on time, look people in the eye, good posture, put down your phone, pants on hips, dedicated to work), and they need integrity (honesty). 

About 300 high school students in Orangeburg County got an introduction Tuesday to the aerospace giant with a major presence down Interstate 26 in the Lowcountry.

The students from each Orangeburg school district were selected for an all-access information session held in the Roquemore Auditorium at Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College. They were told there is a future with the world's largest aerospace company.  More at the T and D jump here...


Edisto High School’s National Honor Society Induction Ceremony

 High School’s Thirtieth Annual National Honor Society Induction Ceremony was recently held in the school’s auditorium, and Edisto’s award-winning AFJROTC set the decorum for a ceremonial evening that celebrated academic achievement.
Twenty-one students in grades ten through twelve, pledged to uphold the virtues of scholarship, character, leadership, and service. The 2015-2016 inductees were Mason Beckom, Neia Blocker, Hayden Colwell, Carter Davis, Zachary Epting, Christopher Givens, Briseida Guiterrez-Gonzales, Cassie Hayden, Nathan Hayden, Ja’Quayla Hodges, Lucas Huggins, Brandon Jennings, Shayna Jennings, Brianna Lee, Neal Nettles, Morgan Rodgers, Shanta Sharperson, Matthew Strickland, William Weeks, Corban Wolfe, and Jessica Wolfe. Officers of the Edisto Chapter of the National Honor Society are Michael Bozard, president; Kyle McAlhany, vice-president; Jamelah Hogan, secretary; Jeremiah Hunt, treasurer; and Shareka Jennings and Bethany Jameson, historians.
After the awarding of certificates, Dr. Shannon Gibson, principal at Edisto High, congratulated the students and shared a speech about the importance of honor. He also reminded the inductees and other members of the National Honor Society, “To whom much is given, much is required.” A reception honoring the inductees and their guests followed the ceremony in the lobby of the auditorium.
Mrs. Barbara Elliott, one of the advisers, stated that the National Honor Society’s Induction Ceremony is one of Edisto High’s premier academic programs because it not only celebrates academics but also encourages service, leadership and character, which are bedrocks for the development of good citizens. Other advisers to Edisto High’s Honor Society are Ms. Danyell  Boneparte and Dr. Joni Jordan.

Picture Information
Pictured in the photo, from to right, are Brianna Lee, Ja’Quayla Hodges, Briseida Gutierrez-Gonzales, Shantasia Sharperson, Jessica Wolfe, Cassie Hayden, Shayna Jennings, and William Weeks.
On the back row are Mason Beckom, Brandon Jennings, Matthew Strickland, Neal Nettles, Hayden Colwell, Nathan Hayden, Corban Wolfe, Carter Davis, and Lucus Huggins. Missing from the photo are Neia Blocker, Zachary Epting, Christopher Givens and Morgan Rodgers.

AFJROTC Color Guard performs at Neeses Celebration

Spanish students lunch at El Toro
Cougars Give 39 Units Nov 12th
39 units were donated November 12th!
Way to go Cougars - we are on pace for a record setting year!  
give blood and save lives!

Hispanic Heritage Teacher Salsa
Last 90 seconds of teacher salsa

The whole enchilada...
SAT Word of the Day

Hispanic Heritage Celebration
The scene on Thursday, 22 Oct at Edisto High...

Compassionate Hearts at Edisto
Wendy Metts’ bright blue eyes light up and sometimes fill with tears when she thinks of the support she has received from her community after her breast cancer diagnosis in May.

Metts, a librarian at Edisto High School, has not been left alone in her battle against one of the leading causes of cancer deaths in the United States.

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the Pink Ribbon has come to symbolize the mission to spread information and education about a disease that Metts has not let get her down.  More from T and D at the jump here...
Compassionate hearts: Edisto High family rallies to support librarian battling breast cancer

Don't text and drive
EHS students attend state house conference
Edisto High students Josiah Thompson-Byrd and Tamia Kirkland attended the SC Legislative Black Caucus Annual Youth Conference on Monday September 14th. This was a unique opportunity for our students to gain direct access to our legislators and learn about the process of SC government.

T-Byrd with Senator John Matthews

40 Pints Blood Drive Thursday 10 Sept

A modern era record - great job, Cougars!

Citadel Cadet Leadership School
Edisto cadets graduated from AFJROTC leadership school at the Citadel June 13th.  Congratulations to Austin Ehrhardt for his Outstanding Cadet trophy.

Cougars Shine
- EHS 4th Qtr SY 14-15 Average GPA 3.09
- 57% of EHS students made the 4th Quarter Honor Roll
Edisto AFJROTC Young Eagles flights
Señora Rosales Lip Dub 2nd Block Mi Verdad
Señora Rosales Lib Dub Juanes feat 'Lila Downs La Patria Madrina
Aventura Obsesion Lip Dub Senora Caro 4th Block

Señora Caro Spanish 1st Block Lip Dub

Carlos Vives Lip Dub El Mar de Sus
AFJROTC 2014-2015 Year in Review Video

Edisto High School Air Force Junior ROTC unit SC-20021 had their annual awards ceremony Thursday night, May 14th, 2015 at the school.  Over 600 ribbons and medals were presented, including 20 from local area fraternal and service organizations.
Cadet Josh Malejko earned the trophy for the top academic average in AFJROTC.  Cadet Josiah Thompson-Byrd  was recognized for outstanding dress and appearance.   The top drill and ceremony cadet was Cadet Ricky Davis.  The outstanding Flight Commander was Cadet Brandon Smoak.  The outstanding cadets overall by year group were Cadets Dante Sanders,  La’Tristan Grimes,  Jeremiah Hunt, and Brandon Antley.  Cadets from Alpha and Delta flights took honors as the best flights each semester.
It was also announced last week that Edisto High AFJROTC earned the national distinguished unit award with merit for 2015.  This award is reserved for the best of all JROTC units nationwide.  Only 4 schools from South Carolina earned the distinguished unit award with merit.  This is the 10th year Edisto High has earned this national award.
Lt Col Walt Davis and MSgt Earl Chatman of Edisto High were nominated by headquarters and earned National Outstanding Instructor awards for 2015. These awards are limited to the top 10 percent of instructors nationwide.
Señora Caro Spanish Lip Dub
Señora Rosales Spanish Classes cook for culture...
Señora Rosales Classes Visit El Toro
Señora Caro Spanish Class visits El Toro

Site Map | Privacy Policy | View "printer-friendly" page | Login   In Japanese  In Korean  En français  Auf Deutsch  In italiano   No português  En español  In Russian  
Site powered by SchoolFusion.com © 2016 - Educational website content management